Return to Headlines

Celebrating Top Teachers During Teacher Appreciation Week

During Teacher Appreciation Week May 4-8, Wicomico County Public Schools and the Wicomico County Board of Education are completing the Wicomico Teacher of the Year celebration that would have been held March 26th, but was postponed due to the pandemic.


Finalists for Wicomico Teacher of the Year

On May 6th, Superintendent of Schools Dr. Donna Hanlin surprised four teachers with the news that they are Teacher of the Year finalists during a Zoom interview with Lisa Bryant about distance learning. You can watch that interview on DelmarvaLife at 5 p.m. May 6th to see the surprise announcement.

Congratulations to:

Primary Finalist: Chelsey Mangum, Prekindergarten 3 Year Olds, Beaver Run Elementary

Intermediate Finalist: Kelly Hamilton, Thinking and Doing (TAD) Program, North Salisbury Elementary

Middle School Finalist: James McCrobie, 6th- to 8th-Grade Social Studies/STEM, Salisbury Middle

High School Finalist: Hemalatha Bhaskaran, Environmental Science, James M. Bennett High

The 2020-2021 Wicomico Teacher of the Year will be named on WBOC's DelmarvaLife at about 5 p.m. Thursday.

Find out what our four finalists love about teaching in this video.


Wicomico Teacher of the Year Recognition Program

Now is your chance to Meet the Semifinalists for Wicomico Teacher of the Year.

Visit the classrooms of the semifinalists!


The 25 semifinalists are:

Beaver Run Elementary: Chelsey Mangum, Prekindergarten 3 Year Olds

Bennett Middle: Cindi Ashcraft, Special Education

Charles H. Chipman Elementary: Susan Biddle, Kindergarten

Choices Academy: Devin Smith, High School Math

Delmar Elementary: Katherine Diven, 4th Grade

East Salisbury Elementary: Breonna Hopkins, 3rd Grade

Fruitland Intermediate: Staci McGowan, Physical Education & Health

Fruitland Primary: Kellie Harvey, Music

Glen Avenue Elementary: Renee Peshoff, 2nd Grade

James M. Bennett High: Hemalatha Bhaskaran, Environmental Science

Mardela Middle and High: Kelly Wells, High School Math

North Salisbury Elementary: Kelly Hamilton, Thinking and Doing (TAD) Program

Northwestern Elementary: John Cox, 3rd Grade

Parkside High: Allison Zaczkiewicz, Health Education & Teacher Academy of Maryland

Pemberton Elementary: Heather McDonough, 4th Grade

Pinehurst Elementary: Heather Cherry, 4th Grade

Pittsville Elementary and Middle: Sherree West, 4th Grade

Prince Street Elementary: James “Matt” McMurdo, 5th Grade

Salisbury Middle: James McCrobie, 6th-8th Social Studies/STEM

West Salisbury Elementary: Freda Morris, Prekindergarten

Westside Intermediate: Chris Okerblom, Physical Education & Health

Westside Primary: Danielle Thompson, Kindergarten

Wicomico High: Stephanie McCoy, CTE Interactive Media

Wicomico Middle: Jason Hussey, Social Studies

Willards Elementary: Jeffrey Thamert, 2nd Grade

Photo Album: Semifinalists for Wicomico Teacher of the Year


2020 Rising Star Award

On May 4th, Bill and Teresa McCain of the McCain Foundation announced the finalists, final four and winner of the 2020 Rising Star Award for second-year teachers. Watch the announcement and meet some of these wonderful new teachers in this video announcement.


2020 Rising Star Award winner:

Heather Smith, Special Education, Wicomico High


Rising Star Final Four:

Sidney Briemann, Prince Street Elementary

Chelsea Brown, Pittsville Elementary and Middle

Emma Cohn, Wicomico High

Heather Smith, Wicomico High


Rising Star Finalists:

Beaver Run: Layla Fowler

Fruitland Intermediate: Tyler Owens

Glen Avenue: Selena Porcelli

JMB: Colleen Morris

Parkside: Alison Cornish

Pemberton: Megan Smiley

Pinehurst: Cynthia Delaney, Kelsey Johnson

Pittsville: Chelsea Brown

Prince Street: Courtney Feeney, Carolyn Smith, Natalie Myers, Sidney Briemann, Jennifer Moriarty

WiHi: Emma Cohn, Heather Smith




Semifinalists for Wicomico Teacher of the Year

Finalists, and the 2020-2021 Wicomico Teacher of the Year

The finalists for prinary, intermediate, middle school and high school will be announced on Wednesday. The 2020-2021 Wicomico Teacher of the Year will be named on Thursday on WBOC’s DelmarvaLife, at approximately 5 p.m. 


Farewell message from the 2019-2020 Wicomico Teacher of the Year

Delmar Elementary's Shane Morton, the 2019-2020 Wicomico Teacher of the Year, looked forwatd to giving her farewell address to a packed room at the March 26th Teacher of the Year Banquet. That couldn't happen, but she delivered a wonderful parting message from her home, where she continues to teach through distance learning wbile also working with her own children. Ms. Morton is an inspiration in any setting!