Return to Headlines

2019 School Spelling Bee Champions Advance to March 2 Bee at UMES

Fifteen Wicomico County school spelling bee champions will compete in the 7th Maryland Eastern Shore Spelling Bee at the University of Maryland Eastern Shore in Princess Anne on Saturday, March 2, for a chance to be the area’s representative at the Scripps National Spelling Bee in May.

UMES sponsors and hosts the regional bee, which will involve students from public schools and some private schools in Wicomico and Somerset counties. The winner of the March 2 spelling bee will win a spot in the Scripps National Spelling Bee held in the Washington area in May. Students from Wicomico County Public Schools have won several of the Maryland Eastern Shore Spelling Bees.

All Wicomico schools with students in grades 4-8 held classroom or team contests and then a school spelling bee, at the end of which the winner was named school champion. The school champion will participate in the March 2 regional bee. Each school also recognized a runner-up to serve as alternate for the Spelling Bee at UMES in case the school champion was unable to participate.

The Maryland Eastern Shore Regional Spelling Bee will take place in the Ella Fitzgerald Center for the Performing Arts at 10 a.m. this Saturday, March 2, and is open to the public. Classmates, teachers, administrators and other supporters are invited to attend. Ample parking is available in the parking lots adjacent to the Fitzgerald PAC. Bee participants should arrive by 8:30 a.m. to check in and be relaxed and ready by bee time. Spectators should plan to be in their seats by 9:50 a.m.


Congratulations to the 2019 spelling champions and alternates!


Delmar Elementary: Praneeth Galigutte (4th) champion, Elizabeth Burt (4th) alternate

East Salisbury Elementary: Jecolia Traore (5th) champion, Jyrus Johnson (5th) alternate

Fruitland Intermediate: Jeffrey Hsia (5th) champion, Arjan Kharel (5th) alternate

Glen Avenue Elementary: Vincent Lavigne (4th) champion, Dylan Smith (4th) alternate

North Salisbury Elementary: Sharanya Velpula (5th) champion, Adithya Bhaskaran (5th) alternate

Northwestern Elementary: Samantha Yobst (5th) champion, Tyrin Brittingham (4th) alternate. Samantha is representing her school as champion for the second straight year.

Pemberton Elementary: Liam Balish (4th) champion, Imran Miah (4th) alternate

Pinehurst Elementary: Aaron Zheng (4th) champion, Rashard Dargin (5th) alternate

Prince Street Elementary: Catherine Apodaca-Reyes (5th) champion, Ava Alexis (5th) alternate

Westside Intermediate: Lydia Foote (4th) champion, Sophia Mannices (5th) alternate

Pittsville Elementary and Middle: Daniel McBride (7th) champion, Reed Linzey (8th) alternate

Bennett Middle: Ellie Long (8th) champion, Sophia Valenzano (6th) alternate. Ellie is representing her school as champion for the second straight year.

Mardela Middle: Charlie Bradshaw (8th) champion, Landen Stafford (6th) alternate

Salisbury Middle: Austin Loar (6th) champion, Abhi Gaddam (6th) alternate

Wicomico Middle: Mahrukh Rizwan (8th) champion, Abdullah Alvi (7th) alternate