Return to Headlines

2021 Semifinalists Announced for Honor of Wicomico Teacher of the Year

Twenty-seven educators from Wicomico County Public Schools have been named semifinalists for Wicomico Teacher of the Year. These semifinalists will now go through an extensive judging process that will end in the new Wicomico Teacher of the Year being named Thursday, May 6.

A video announcing the names of the 2021 semifinalists for Wicomico Teacher of the Year is posted on the Wicomico Schools’ YouTube channel:

Making the announcement are 2020-2021 Wicomico Teacher of the Year Hemalatha Bhaskaran and some of her James M. Bennett High students.

Congratulations and good luck to these 2021 semifinalists for Wicomico Teacher of the Year:


Beaver Run Elementary: Kristina Powell, Grade 1

Bennett Middle: Dawn Littleton, Art

Charles H. Chipman Elementary: Patricia Sims, Kindergarten

Choices Academy: Donna Chalmers, Online Lab Instructor


Delmar Elementary: Lisa Littleton, Grade 2

East Salisbury Elementary: Kirsten Biddle, Grade 3

Fruitland Intermediate: Anna Krider, Special Education

Fruitland Primary: Kelsey Murphy, Grade 1


Glen Avenue Elementary: Jenna Purnell, Grade 4

James M. Bennett High: Ann Schuchart, Family & Consumer Sciences

Mardela Middle and High: Trish Baer, Geometry & Algebra

North Salisbury Elementary: Christy Tawes, Grade 3


Northwestern Elementary: Nadia Peterson, Grade 1

Parkside High: Brittany Wolske, Biology

Pemberton Elementary: Shelly Gilmore, Prekindergarten

Pinehurst Elementary: Jodi Moore, Reading Intervention


Pittsville Elementary and Middle: Jessica Smith, School Library Teacher & Media Specialist

Prince Street Elementary: Dustin Thomas, Physical Education, Health & World Music

Salisbury Middle: Katie Serenyi, Grade 7 Math

West Salisbury Elementary: Angel Wright, Grade 2


Westside Intermediate: Kristen Ballard, Special Education

Westside Primary: Danielle Thompson, Kindergarten

Wicomico High: Stephanie McCoy, CTE Interactive Media

Wicomico Middle: Lillian Hoffman, Band Director


Willards Elementary: Mary Lynn Mather, Kindergarten

Birth to Five: Pamela Mills, Special Education

English Language Support Center: Beth Kaplan Wolff, ESOL


The annual Wicomico Teacher of the Year celebration will be held during Teacher Appreciation Week. Details are still to be determined, but the event will be held outdoors with fewer guests than in a typical year in order to observe physical distancing and capacity guidelines. Among the attendees will be 2020 Teacher of the Year semifinalists and the 2020 Rising Star, whose celebration was not held last spring due to the pandemic.

During the Teacher of the Year celebration, the 2021 semifinalists with the four highest scores will be named finalists, and from among those four finalists the new Wicomico Teacher of the Year will be named. An outstanding second-year teacher will be named the 2021 Rising Star that evening.