• To determine whether a particular activity would qualify as service learning, all schools use the following Seven Best Practices of Service Learning published by MSDE.  The activity must meet all seven practices in order to be eligible for student-service learning hours:

    1.  Meet a recognized need in the community

    2.  Achieve curricular objectives through service-learning

    3.  Reflect through service-learning experience

    4.  Develop student responsibility

    5.  Establish community partnerships

    6.  Plan ahead for service-learning

    7.  Equip students with knowledge and skills needed for service


    Maryland State Department of Education Logo