Wicomico Teacher of the Year to Be Named Thursday
Congratulations to the 27 TOY Semifinalists
Posted on 03/17/2015

Twenty-seven educators from throughout Wicomico County Public Schools have been named semifinalists for 2015-2016 Wicomico Teacher of the Year. The semifinalists have been through an extensive judging process since being nominated, and will find out on Thursday, March 19 who will be the new Wicomico Teacher of the Year.

The annual Wicomico Teacher of the Year banquet, with more than 200 guests including dozens of outstanding teachers (semifinalists, nominees and former Teachers of the Year), will be held at the Commons at Salisbury University beginning at 6 p.m. Thursday, March 19. The banquet will also feature student musicians, an address by outgoing Wicomico Teacher of the Year Lauren Monroe, and the honoring of a new Friend of Education. The four finalists will be announced, and from among those four finalists the new Wicomico Teacher of the Year will be announced by about 9 p.m.

Congratulations to all of these semifinalists for 2015-2016 Wicomico Teacher of the Year:


Beaver Run Elementary: Mary Jo Harris, 2nd Grade

Bennett Middle: Hunter Patton, 8th Grade Mathematics

Charles H. Chipman Elementary: Michelle Schlegel, Kindergarten

Choices Academy: Kairlyn Smith, Middle School Science

Delmar Elementary: Alison Cuffy, 1st Grade

East Salisbury Elementary: Rebekah Davis-Slade, Media Specialist

Fruitland Intermediate: Stacy Wheeler, 3rd Grade

Fruitland Primary: Dana Lynerd, 1st Grade

Glen Avenue Elementary: Kacie Robinson, 4th Grade

James M. Bennett High: Chris Emge, Business/Technology Education

Mardela Middle and High: Amber Dorman, 7th Grade English Language Arts

North Salisbury Elementary: Mildred Johnson, 5th Grade

Northwestern Elementary: Charles Echard, 4th Grade

Parkside High: Stephanie McCoy, Art

Pemberton Elementary: Jenny Zawacki, 3rd Grade

Pinehurst Elementary: Katherine Byrne, 1st Grade

Pittsville Elementary and Middle: Sarah Burton, String Orchestra

Prince Street Elementary: Megan Gray, 1st Grade

Salisbury Middle: Laura Becker, 8th Grade Mathematics

West Salisbury Elementary: Meeka McCoy, 2nd Grade

Westside Intermediate: Theresa DeLizza, 3rd Grade

Westside Primary: Mary Sterrett, Prekindergarten

Wicomico Early Learning Center: Cindy Becker, Prekindergarten

Wicomico High: Kimberly McGlinchey, Special Education

Wicomico Middle: Kristen Jackson, Health Education

Wicomico Middle: Kathy Klaverweiden, 6th Grade History

Willards Elementary: Janet Dutton, Prekindergarten