2017 All State Orchestra, All Shore Orchestra Honors
Wicomico County Middle and High School Orchestra Students Achieve All State, All Shore Honors
Posted on 01/24/2017

Congratulations to the outstanding 2017 All State Orchestra and All Shore Orchestra musicians from Wicomico County Public Schools.

Two students from James M. Bennett High School were selected through audition to participate in the prestigious All State Orchestra.

On Saturday, middle and high school students from throughout the Eastern Shore auditioned for All Shore Orchestra. Most of the students selected for All Shore Orchestra take part in orchestra classes in Wicomico Schools, under the direction of teachers Sarah Burton, Ashley Palmer and Sharay Dubose.

The achievements of these orchestra students highlight the high level of music education in Wicomico County Public Schools. Superintendent of Schools Dr. Donna C. Hanlin and the Board of Education are very proud that Wicomico County Public Schools has been named one of the Best Communities for Music Education in the NAMM (National Association of Music Merchants) Foundation Survey. Wicomico has earned this honor seven of the past 10 years due to its excellent music educators and music instruction programs.


All State Orchestra

Musicians selected to practice and perform with the All State Orchestra Feb. 10-12 in Baltimore:

Alexis Emerson, James M. Bennett High (trumpet)

Peter Lim, James M. Bennett High (oboe)


All Shore Orchestra

These students, selected for All Shore Orchestra, will participate in a day of rehearsal capped off by a concert on Thursday, March 30 at Colonel Richardson High School in Federalsburg:


Violin 1:

Chris Sajadi (JMB), 1st chair

Ju-young Park (JMB)

James Hsia (Parkside)

Nick Nguyen (Wicomico High)

Simon Jeong (Pittsville Middle)

Thomas Long (JMB)

Millicent Kihiura (Wicomico High)

Leyna Paul (Parkside)

Brian Min (Parkside)

Gracie Elswick (Bennett Middle)

Elizabeth Johnson (Mardela High)


Violin 2:

Anna Long (JMB), 1st chair

Yeong Lee (JMB)

Cristina Avanessian (Bennett Middle)

Sarah Runge (Parkside)

Banuja Munasinghe (JMB)

Mulan Bell (JMB)

Josie Sollars (Pittsville Middle)

Ian Anderson (Parkside)


Violin 3:

Laila Libertin (Parkside), 1st chair

Eduardo Minchala (Wicomico Middle)

Riya Mehta (Salisbury Middle)

Roxanne Chow (JMB)

Cassidy Bauer (JMB)

Kirsten Parsons (Wicomico Middle)



Elizabeth Simpson (JMB)

Kyla Garrison (Bennett Middle)

Paige Faulkner (Wicomico Middle)



Sophia Keniston (JMB), 1st chair

Olivia Haines (Salisbury Middle)

Zander Baer (Mardela Middle)



Lensky Augustin (JMB), 1st chair

David Waters (JMB)

Malcolm Keniston (JMB)

Adan Thomas-Mason (JMB)