Jan 7 2013 | Nominations for 2013-14 Wicomico Teacher of the Year Accepted Until Jan. 25

Posted 3 month, 9 days ago

Nominations for 2013-14 Wicomico Teacher of the Year Accepted Until Jan. 25

Now is the time to nominate that deserving teacher for some special recognition. Nominations for 2013-2014 Wicomico Teacher of the Year may be made now through Jan. 25. Anyone in the community is invited to seek recognition for a current teacher in Wicomico County Public Schools who has taught full-time for at least five years.

Nomination forms will be sent home with students. They are also available in schools and at the Board of Education Office, and on line at www.wcboe.org (look for the Teacher of the Year Form box on the home page). 

The Wicomico County Teacher of the Year Program annually solicits nominations from parents, students, the community and fellow educators to recognize Wicomico teachers with exceptional qualities and characteristics that make them shining examples of teaching in Wicomico County. Nominations can come from a student who treasures a special teacher, a parent who sees the benefits of all that a teacher does, someone who recalls an outstanding experience in the classroom of a teacher who is still teaching, or a coworker who sees the value of a fellow teacher’s work every day.

“It is an honor to be nominated for Teacher of the Year. Nominees should demonstrate all of the characteristics associated with exemplary teachers. They should be dedicated educators and caring individuals whose primary focus is the education of our children,” said Dr. Kirsten Jennette, chair of the Teacher of the Year Committee.

Wicomico Teachers of the Year model teaching excellence. Past honorees include the current Teacher of the Year, Susie Jones of Fruitland Primary School, and many other county winners and state finalists. Wicomico is proud to have on its staff two past Maryland Teachers of the Year: Bonnie Walston, then a resource teacher at Parkside High School and now the director of special education (1994), and Aaron Deal, then a computer education teacher at Salisbury Middle School (2004) and now a pupil personnel worker.

Semifinalists for the Wicomico award will be interviewed by a blue ribbon panel of judges (Feb. 26-28). On March 21, during the Teacher of the Year Banquet at Salisbury University’s Commons, the finalists at the primary, intermediate, middle and high school levels will be named, and the new 2013-14 Wicomico Teacher of the Year will be announced. 

For more information, please call Dr. Jennette at 410-677-5805 or e-mail her at kjennett@wcboe.org.