Jun 10 2009 | Administrative Appointments

Posted 10 month, 13 days ago

Administrative Appointments

The Wicomico County Board of Education, acting on the recommendation of Superintendent Dr. John Fredericksen, made eight administrative appointments at its June 9 meeting. The appointments are effective July 1.

Susan Jones Director of Elementary Education
Susan Jones has served as the Executive Director of Elementary Education for Cecil County Public Schools since 2007, and was a principal (2001-2007), assistant principal (1998-2001) and elementary teacher (1987-1998) in Cecil Schools. She received a bachelor's degree in elementary education from Salisbury University in 1987, and a master's degree in Education Administration & Supervisor from Loyola College in 1993. Jones will replace Margo Handy, who is leaving the Director of Elementary Education position to become Assistant Superintendent of Instruction and Student Services.

Cathy Townsend Safe Schools Coordinator
Cathy Townsend, formerly the principal of Salisbury Middle School and currently the principal of Delmar Middle/High School, will return to Wicomico County Public Schools as the Safe Schools Coordinator. She replaces Steve Brewer, who is retiring. Townsend previously spent 22 years in Wicomico Schools as a teacher, assistant principal and principal, and in 2004 was the Maryland Middle School Principal of the Year. She is working on a doctorate at Wilmington University, with a dissertation on character education.

Jason Miller Elementary Assistant Principal, Delmar Elementary
Jason Miller is currently serving as the math professional development coach for Delmar and West Salisbury elementary schools, and served as interim assistant principal at Delmar in 2008. He is the co-coordinator of Wicomico County's Math 24 Game Tournament, and served on the school system's Code of Conduct Revision Committee. He received a master's degree in Public School Administration from Salisbury University in 2006.

Jennifer Rice Elementary Assistant Principal, Northwestern Elementary
Jennifer Rice is currently serving as the assistant principal of Accawmacke Elementary School in Accomac. She also served as assistant principal of Owings Mills Elementary School in Baltimore County. She received a master's degree in public education from Towson University.

Ruby Brown Elementary Principal, North Salisbury Elementary
Ruby Brown is currently serving as assistant principal of Pinehurst Elementary School and had also been assistant principal at North Salisbury Elementary. During her time as a reading coach and elementary school teacher, she was a finalist for Wicomico Teacher of the Year four different years. She received a master's degree in School Leadership from Wilmington University in 2006.

Scott Fowler Elementary Principal, Prince Street Elementary
Scott Fowler currently serves as assistant principal of Prince Street Elementary School, and has also served in that position at North Salisbury and Northwestern elementary schools. He is a former teacher and lead teacher of the Title I Summer School Program. He received a master of education degree from California University of California, Pa.

Ellen Harlan Elementary Principal, Fruitland Primary
Ellen Harlan currently serves as assistant principal of Westside Primary School, and has also held that post at Westside and Fruitland intermediate schools. She was a classroom teacher at East Salisbury Elementary. She received a master's degree in School Administration from Salisbury University in 1998.

Christel Savage Secondary Assistant Principal (school assignment to be announced later)
Christel Savage is currently working as a Social Studies teacher at Parkside High School, and has also taught the subject at Bennett Middle School. She co-chaired her school's Instructional Leadership Team, and served as Professional Development School Coordinator for University of Maryland Eastern Shore and Salisbury University. She received a master's degree in Public School Administration from SU in 2007.

Dr. Fredericksen has also announced transfers for some secondary schools. Effective July 1, principal assignments will change for the following high schools:

James M. Bennett High School: Steve Grudis (transferred from Parkside)
Parkside High School: Micah Stauffer (transferred from Mardela)
Mardela Middle and High School: Lori Batts (transferred from JMB)
Wicomico Evening High School: Awaiting assignment of a lead teacher (Principal Clay Belgie will transfer to a position as Pupil Personnel Worker)

Margo Handy, Director of Elementary Education, announced the following elementary administrative changes for 2009-2010, effective July 1:

Beaver Run Elementary: Kathy Vail, assistant principal (transfer from Pittsville Elementary and Middle)
Charles H. Chipman Elementary: Larry Collins, assistant principal (transfer from James M. Bennett High)
Delmar Elementary: Jason Miller, assistant principal (promotion, see above)
East Salisbury Elementary: Renee Hall, assistant principal (transfer from Delmar Elementary)
Fruitland Primary: Ellen Harlan, principal (promotion, see above)
North Salisbury Elementary: Ruby Brown, principal (promotion, see above)
Northwestern Elementary: Jennifer Rice, assistant principal (promotion, see above)
Pinehurst Elementary: Sheila Cain, assistant principal (transfer from East Salisbury Elementary)
Prince Street Elementary: Scott Fowler, principal (promotion, see above), and Maria Marshall (transfer from Charles H. Chipman Elementary)
Westside Primary: Valerie Schor, assistant principal (transfer from Northwestern Elementary)