Teacher of the Year Program

Semifinalists Announced for Honor of 2016-2017 Wicomico Teacher of the Year

Twenty-six educators from Wicomico County Public Schools have been named semifinalists for 2016-2017 Wicomico Teacher of the Year. These semifinalists will now go through an extensive judging process that will end in the new Wicomico Teacher of the Year being named Thursday, March 17.

The annual Wicomico Teacher of the Year Banquet, with more than 200 guests including dozens of outstanding teachers (semifinalists, nominees, and former Teachers of the Year), will be held at the Commons at Salisbury University beginning at 6 p.m. March 17. The banquet will also feature student musicians, an address by outgoing Wicomico Teacher of the Year Kim McGlinchey of Wicomico High School, and the honoring of a new Friend of Education. Four finalists – one for each school level – will be announced, and from among those four finalists the new Wicomico Teacher of the Year will be announced.

Congratulations and good luck to all of these semifinalists for 2016-2017 Wicomico Teacher of the Year:


Beaver Run Elementary: Kathleen Rush, 2nd Grade

Bennett Middle: Christy Briggs, 6th Grade English Language Arts

Charles H. Chipman Elementary: Tamara Filippelli, Intervention

Choices Academy: Starla Blank, Special Education

Delmar Elementary: Vanessa Stein, 3rd Grade

East Salisbury Elementary: Rebekah Davis-Slade, Media Specialist

Fruitland Intermediate: Stacy Wheeler, 3rd Grade

Fruitland Primary: Jessica Hanes, Kindergarten

Glen Avenue Elementary: Jessica Womer, 2nd Grade

James M. Bennett High: Erin Davis, Art

Mardela Middle and High: Nancy Guillemart, 6th Grade History

North Salisbury Elementary: Diana Hill, 3rd Grade

Northwestern Elementary: Melissa Echard, 5th Grade

Parkside High: David Miles, CTE Project Lead the Way

Pemberton Elementary: Arnetta Thomas, 5th Grade English Language Arts

Pinehurst Elementary: Audra Phippin, 2nd Grade

Pittsville Elementary and Middle: Lindsay McCauley, 5th Grade English Language Arts

Prince Street Elementary: Ariel Thomas, 2nd Grade English Language Arts

Salisbury Middle: Carole Rollins, 7th Grade Science

West Salisbury Elementary: Meeka McCoy, 2nd Grade

Westside Intermediate: Kimble Messick, 5th Grade English Language Arts

Westside Primary: Christina Stewart, 1st Grade

Wicomico Early Learning Center: Cindy Becker, Prekindergarten

Wicomico High: Bill Duck, Modern World History

Wicomico Middle: Alison Davis, 6th Grade English Language Arts

Willards Elementary: Carolyn Check, 2nd Grade

The Wicomico County Teacher of the Year Program annually solicits nominations from parents, students, the community and fellow educators to recognize Wicomico teachers with exceptional qualities and characteristics that make them shining examples of teaching in Wicomico County. Nominations were accepted in November and December.

Nominations can come from a student who treasures a special teacher, a parent who sees the benefits of all that a teacher does, someone who recalls an outstanding experience in the classroom of a teacher who is still teaching, or a coworker who sees the value of a fellow teacher’s work every day.
Wicomico Teachers of the Year model teaching excellence.

The 2015-2016 Wicomico Teacher of the Year is Wicomico High School’s Kimberly McGlinchey, a special education teacher. Past honorees include many other county winners, state finalists and state winners. Wicomico is proud to have on its staff three past Maryland Teachers of the Year: Bonnie Walston, then a resource teacher at Parkside High School and now the director of special education (1994); Aaron Deal, then a computer education teacher at Salisbury Middle School (2004) and now a pupil personnel worker; and April Todd, then the Somerset Teacher of the Year and now a middle school Thinking and Doing (TAD) teacher.

From among all of the eligible nominees for each school, a semifinalist was selected to represent the school. Semifinalists for Wicomico Teacher of the Year will be challenged in a public-speaking exercise called a “fishbowl,” and they will be interviewed by a blue ribbon panel of judges. On March 17, during the Teacher of the Year Banquet at Salisbury University’s Commons, semifinalists and many other nominees will be celebrated and the new 2016-2017 Wicomico Teacher of the Year will be announced. The new Wicomico Teacher of the Year will represent Wicomico in the Maryland Teacher of the Year recognition program.

For more information, please contact comments@wcboe.org or 10-677-5251.